243 Stafford St.

Worcester, MA 01603

Tel. 1 (888) 455-2800

Fax 1.508.363.2900


The Business Lighting Experts

EISA of 2007: an overview.
Learning Center Section Menu

Incandescent Phase-out


The Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 is designed to implement sweeping changes to energy policies in the United States. The stated mission of the act is “to move the United States toward greater energy independence and security, to increase the production of clean renewable fuels, to protect consumers, to increase the efficiency of products, buildings, and vehicles, to promote research on and deploy greenhouse gas capture and storage options, and to improve the energy performance of the Federal Government, and for other purposes.” Section 321 of the act addresses new efficiency standards regarding “general service incandescent lamps.”

What does this mean for you?

Basically, the A-style or Edison-style incandescent light bulbs that many of you use in your home or business are no longer manufactured because they do not meet the new efficiency standards.

These are some of the major changes related to lighting:

  • During a phase-in period between 2012 and 2014, a 25% increase in efficiency was required for all light bulbs. This served to effectively ban most incandescent bulbs. Bulbs under 40 watts, three way bulbs, appliance bulbs, and a few other specialty types were exempted.
  • By 2020, a 200% increase in efficiency is required for all light bulbs.
  • All federal buildings are required to use ENERGY STAR qualified lighting products.

If you need assistance choosing energy efficient lighting for your home or business, contact our Lighting Specialists at 888-455-2800.